Thursday, August 27, 2015

Review/Promo: Daron's Guitar Chronicals by Cecilia Tan

Cecilia Tan
Release Date: August 4, 2015

Sex, drugs, and rock and roll. Coming out and coming of age in the days of AIDS, MTV, Reaganomics, and Just Say No.
Daron Marks is a young guitar player with a dream, make it big like the guys he grew up idolizing in New Jersey--or at least escape his dysfunctional family. He makes it as far as music school in Rhode Island, and the rock clubs of Boston beckon him. But it's hard to succeed from the closet.
A story of how finding one's self is key to finding love, and loving one's self is key to loving another.
Winner of the Rose and Bay Award for Crowdfunded Fiction!
"For me, Daron is one of those rare fictional characters that I have a hard time believing does not actually exist on the physical plane. He is just too real. Part of it is that Daron is only a couple of years older than me and the way the 80s are brought to life here reminds me very much of my own coming of age: the musical references, the language, the AIDS scare, the technology, the hair... Most of all, though, it is the fact that Daron is an extremely well written character. He grows and changes and engages." —Reviews by Jessewave


Buy links:

Daron's Guitar Volume One introduces us to Daron as he essentially starts his journey to finding himself.  He's in school, working towards finding his perfect band and his place in the world, while also working through parental issues and other things about himself. 

As the story is laid out for us, we learn a lot about Daron and his past. There are parts of his past that have molded him and parts he'd like to forget but can't really move on from.  We also see his complete enticement to a career in the music field and his ultimate desires for his band. 

The story shows a lot of growth and change for Daron as he's not only figuring out what he wants in life, but ultimately who he is.  The story definitely brings you in, wondering what is going to come next and where Daron is going to ultimately wind up.  

About Author

Cecilia Tan is a writer, editor, and sexuality activist. She is the author of Slow Surrender, The Prince's Boy, Mind Games, The Hot Streak, White Flames, Edge Plays, Black Feathers, The Velderet, and Telepaths Don't Need Safewords, as well as the Magic University series of paranormal erotic romances. She has the distinction of being perhaps the only writer to have erotic fiction published in both Penthouse and Ms. magazines, as well as in scores of other magazines and anthologies including Asimov's, Best American Erotica, and Nerve. She is the founder and editor of Circlet Press, publishers of erotic science fiction and fantasy, the founder and creator of the Fetish Fair Fleamarket ™, and was inducted into the Saints & Sinners Hall of Fame for GLBT writers in 2010.

Daron’s Series

Daron’s Guitar Chronicles #1:


Daron #2:

Buy Links:

No comments:

Post a Comment